Hayao Miyazaki Collected Works Blu-ray set coming exclusively to Amazon

The Collected Works of Hayao Miyazaki Blu-ray Set (click image to see larger version)
 The wait is over, anime fans! Experience the majestic works of one of the most celebrated filmmakers in the history of animated cinema: Hayao Miyazaki! The Japanese animation legend weaves his unique style of artistry and epic adventure into astonishing tales of triumph, bursting with imagination and wonder, and he is finally getting a Blu-ray set worthy of his acclaim.

For the first time, enjoy all 11 of Miyazaki’s feature-length masterpieces in one spectacular 12-disc collection, complete with hours of captivating bonus features and the Academy Award-winning Spirited Away (2002, Best Animated Feature Film).

The Collected Works of Hayao Miyazaki will be released on November 17, 2015, and will be available exclusively at Amazon.com (click here for ordering information).

Included in the set are the following films:
  • Lupin the Third: The Castle of Cagliostro (1979)
  • Nausica of the Valley of the Wind (1984)
  • Castle in the Sky (1986)
  • My Neighbor Totoro (1988)
  • Kiki’s Delivery Service (1989)
  • Porco Rosso (1992)
  • Princess Mononoke (1997)
  • Spirited Away (2001)
  • Howl’s Moving Castle (2004)
  • Ponyo (2008/2009)
  • The Wind Rises (2013)
The Blu-ray set also includes the following new bonus features:
  • “Yuki no Taiyo” (Yuki’s Sun) - A 1972 TV pilot based on an original manga by Tetsuya Chiba, directed by Hayao Miyazaki, who was also in charge of storyboards and key animation.
  • “Akado Suzunosuke”(Little Samurai)- Three episodes (Episodes 26, 27 & 41) of the hit 1972 anime series with storyboarding and more by Hayao Miyazaki.
  • Director Hayao Miyazaki Retirement Press Conference, Uncut Version
  • Booklet: A collector’s edition book featuring “The Great Dichotomy: Looking at the Works of Hayao Miyazaki” by Tomohiro Machiyama, which explores the themes and techniques of this revered Japanese filmmaker, and selected text from Hayao Miyazaki’s initial notes and creative proposals for the production of each film.
For more information on The Collected Works of Hayao Miyazaki, or to place a pre-order, click here to visit Amazon.com.

Victor Medina is a freelance writer based in Dallas. He is the editor of several websites, and his writing credits include The Dallas Morning News, Yahoo News, Cinelinx.com and SportsIllustrated.com. He has served as a Dallas County election judge and on the Board of Directors of The Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza in Dallas. You can follow him on his blog, VictorMedina.com or on Twitter at @mrvictormedina. He can be reached by email at vic@victormedina.com.

Click here for Comments